A day in Zurich

Like I mentioned before, my friends and I went on a month-long interrailing trip last summer. Backpacking through Europe is absolutely amazing, especially because the sights you get to see by train are just too lovely to miss. That being said, night trains are NOT THE ONE. We were trying to get from Aachen to Rome which involved getting a night train, stopping off to recharge in Switzerland for one day only, and then getting another night train. Gross.

Luckily, Zurich is one of the most serene places I’ve ever visited, and so we were able to relax and recharge without feeling too guilty. When we first arrived we were so sleepy we headed as if on auto-pilot to the first Starbucks we saw, which was a huge mistake. If you’re visiting Zurich on a budget, stay away from Starbucks coffee…

This post won’t be super descriptive as we didn’t get to do much at all. 😦 However, I just want to pass on my recommendations for Barfussbar, which you can check out at http://www.barfussbar.ch/. This is an outdoor lido area for those who fancy a dip in Lake Zurich, with changing rooms, two swimming areas, and a little cafe. It’s only a few minutes away from Grossmünsterplatz, which you can actually see from the water.

I should also mention that Barfussbar is a female-only lido. It was very relaxed although extremely busy, so you do unfortunately have a time limit.I can’t quite remember the price, but I think it was about 9 euro per session which I definitely didn’t regret paying 🙂 After taking a peek at the website it looks as if it also opens up as a barefoot bar in the evening throughout the summer, so if I get a chance to go back to Zurich I’ll make sure to check it out!

xoxoxo

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I bet it’d be amazing to hang out there in the summer! Hopefully they don’t have sessions in the bar for the evening though…

    Like

    1. brokeatlas says:

      Haha, I can imagine someone would end up falling in!

      Like

Leave a Reply

